Funny Bunny Books

Sick-Awesome Moody

Posted on: April 20, 2009

judymoody

 

 

 

Judy Moody Goes to College
Megan McDonald
Illustrated by Peter H. Reynolds
Candlewick, 2009

I’m pretty sure that I’ve got a good book in my hands if reading the Table of Contents makes me laugh. It wasn’t  just a polite chuckle either, more of a gut-buster guffaw. I love Judy Moody, she is my kind of girl: speaks up for herself, has her own unique view of the world, is not afraid to call her brother Stink. In this book, #8 in the series, she makes college look like a walk in the park. No, she hasn’t grown up all of a sudden, she’s still in the 3rd grade, but a challenge with math lands her some tutoring from a college student who is for serious rad. 

If you have never read a Judy Moody book (Where have you been?)you really need to do something about that.  Funny word play, dead on sibling banter and laugh-out-loud situations abound in these books and the illos by Peter Reynolds add just what we need to appreciate Judy in all of her attitudes. I especially liked seeing Judy doing yoga (not yogurt) with her cat, Mouse.

Since I read my first (not boring) Judy Moody book, author Megan McDonald has been on my list of people I’d most like to meet.  There’s a rumor that she is as moody as Judy, but I think she started that herself. No, really.

Read on!
Amanda Lorenzo

What do you think ‘funtrumptious’ might mean? Find out when the Runt Farm books arrive on the scene. Stay tuned and I’ll let you in on it right here.

Leave a Reply

Amanda  Close UpSm

Recent Comments

Amanda Tweets

  • Runt Farmers will be going to The Bahamas soon. Tooth is packing sunscreen, Cletus is designing a dune buggy. 4 years ago
  • 100 Runt Farm books were donated to Page Ahead, a great non-profit that provides new books to deserving kiddos. 5 years ago
  • I posted a new photo to Facebook fb.me/XGepOOkv 5 years ago
  • You know you're a Runt when . . . 5 years ago
  • New documentary Forks Over Knives shows why it's healthy & smart to ditch meat & fork over your veggies - Kitten... http://fb.me/twy1maj6 6 years ago
